Boston Local Food Festival

Presented by Sustainable Business Network of Massachusetts

Fish Stock/Seafood Throwdown

Fish Stock is the portion of the Boston Local Food Festival that highlights the fisher folk and the seafood that are local to New England. Brought to us by Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance (NAMA), The Seafood Throwdown is the main event of Fish Stock! Two chefs engage in a culinary battle of skill and creativity with the secret seafood ingredient. Can you guess the secret seafood?

Competing Chefs this year will feature  A Chef from The Restaurant Opportunity Center of Boston as well as Kevin Conner from Community Servings of Boston.

Chefs are allowed to bring three of their favorite ingredients, and once they discover the secret seafood they must use, they got $25 and 15 minutes to shop the Boston Local Food Festival’s vendors for ingredients. After their shopping spree, they have one hour to cook and present their entry for the judge’s consideration.

Emcees:  John Taraborelli & Michael Gazdacko

  • John Taraborelli is the Communications Director at the Elorza for Mayor in Providence RI and the Host of Providence Pecka Kucha Night.
  • Michael Gazdacko is the Director of Development & Operations at Urban Smart Growth


Chefs 1:  ROC of Boston (Restaurant Opportunity Center of Boston)

  • The Restaurant Opportunities Center of Boston is a local restaurant workers’ organization founded in 2013. Their mission is to improve working conditions in the restaurant industry. They actively outreach to workers in the greater Boston area to build, develop, and lead their worker center.

Chef 2:  Kevin, Conner,  Community Servings of Boston

  • Community Servings is a not-for-profit food and nutrition program providing services throughout Massachusetts to individuals and families living with critical and chronic illnesses. They give their clients, their dependent families, and caregivers appealing, nutritious meals, and send the message to those in greatest need that someone cares. Their goals are to help our clients maintain their health and dignity and preserve the integrity of their families through free, culturally appropriate, home-delivered meals, nutrition education, and other community programs.
  • As Executive Chef, Kevin oversees all kitchen operations including the preparation, cooking, packaging, handling and storage of 4,000 daily meals that are tailored to meet the needs of more than 25 different diets. Chef Conner is motivated by the significant impact that food can have on someone who is sick and he aims to integrate new recipes and different cuisines into the menu to help ensure that our medically tailored meals are flavorful, while still meeting the dietary needs of our clients. Kevin has been a professional chef for 15 years. His culinary experience includes crafting menus and recipes at some of the region’s most well-known restaurants, including No. 9 Park, Radius, Union Bar Grille in Boston and Al Forno in Providence. Prior to joining the staff of Community Servings, Kevin worked as the Executive Chef at the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston. Kevin is a graduate of Johnson & Wales Culinary Arts Program.


Stay tuned. 2014 Schedule is coming soon!

The Boston Local Food Festival Seafood Throwdown is hosted by the Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance (NAMA). The Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance works with coastal communities to protect our marine environment, strengthen local leadership, and give voice to independent, community based fishermen. NAMA advocates for policies that advance social, economic, and environmental justice throughout the entire seafood value chain. Also, NAMA piloted the Seafood Throwdown event, which is an educational and community driven activity that promotes the ecological and economic benefits of locally caught seafood.

Chef Derrick Prince and Chef Christian Collins (Photo Credit: Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance)

Crowd takes in the throwdown action (Photo Credit: Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance)

The Distinguished Judges (from left to right): Callie Crossley of WGBH’s Callie Crossley show, Mass Dept of Fish and Game Commissioner Mary Griffin, Mass Dept of Agriculture Commissioner Scott Soaros, lobsterman David Casoni of the Mass Lobsterman’s Association (Photo Credit: Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance)

Derrick Prince, 2011 winner. Photo Credit: Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance